Teach English | ELPNZ

Christchurch

Teach English

Volunteer as an ESOL home tutor

Complete the Certificate in ESOL Home Tutoring

Learn about working with other cultures and practical teaching techniques. Then teach English to a migrant or refugee-background learner.

  • 20 hour training course (minimum)
  • 4 assessment tasks
  • Tutor 1-2 hours per week
  • Follow up session once tutoring starts

After training you will

  • Be matched with a learner
  • Have access to a resource library and online teaching worksheets and resources
  • Receive ongoing training and support

Want to know more? Contact us | More about ESOL Home Tutoring | More about our training course

Apply online

Our training programme 2017

Venue:  Unit 4, 473 Brougham Street, Waltham, Christchurch 8011

Course 1
Day 1  Thursday 09 February                      5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Day 2  Monday 13 February                        5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 3  Thursday 16 February                      5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Day 4  Monday 20 February                        5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 5  Thursday 23 February                      5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 6  Monday 27 February                        5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 7  Thursday 02 March                          5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 8  Monday 27 March                             5.45pm - 8.30pm
 
 
Course 2
Day 1  Thursday 23 March                          5.45pm - 8.00pm 
Day 2  Saturday 25 March                           9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 3  Saturday 01 April                              9.00am - 3.30pm 
Day 4  Saturday 08 April                              9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 5  Saturday 13 May                              9.00am - 3.30pm
 
 
Course 3
Day 1  Thursday 08 June                             5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Day 2  Monday 12 June                               5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 3  Thursday 15 June                             5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Day 4  Monday 19 June                               5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 5  Thursday 22 June                            5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 6  Monday 26 June                               5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 7  Thursday 29 June                             5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 8  Monday 24 July                                5.45pm - 8.30pm
 
 
Course 4
Day 1  Thursday 27 July                             5.45pm - 8.00pm 
Day 2  Saturday 29 July                              9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 3  Saturday 05 August                         9.00am - 3.30pm 
Day 4  Saturday 12 August                         9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 5  Saturday 09 September                   9.00am - 3.30pm
 
 
Course 5
Day 1  Wednesday 06 September              5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Day 2  Saturday 09 September                   9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 3  Wednesday 13 September              5.45pm - 8.30pm
Day 4  Saturday 16 September                   9.00am - 3.30pm
Day 5  Wednesday 20 September               5.45pm - 8.30pm 
Final Day 6 Wednesday 18 October            5.45pm - 8.30pm 

 

For more information on our next training course please email the office at christchurch@englishlanguage.org.nz or call us on 03 377 3141. 

 

Word of mouth is one of the best ways we have of recruiting new volunteers for our ESOL Home Tutor service. If you have a friend or acquaintance who might enjoy the training course and would like to take up the challenge of working with a migrant learner, then please pass this information on to them.  

All applicants are interviewed before acceptance on to the course. Course cost: $40.00 The names and contact numbers of two referees will be required on application. Consent for a police check will be requested (please bring identification). Please note, all sessions should be attended. A minimum of 80% attendance is required to be eligible for the certificate.

Our aim is to train community volunteers as ESOL home tutors who will provide one-to-one English language and resettlement support to adults. This is not a training course for teaching English overseas. The course carries with it an expectation that you will tutor a learner once a week for a period of at least six months, preferably a year.

Support for tutors

  • Coordinator support and assistance
  • Resources at the English Language Partners' office
  • Workshop/seminar sessions
  • Quarterly newsletters
  • Contact with other home tutors at social events
  • Information on other related agencies

Facebook us

Like our page on Facebook and keep in touch with great links on ESOL tutoring, events and updates for migrants and refugees in Christchurch.