Teach English | ELPNZ

Auckland West

Teach English

Volunteer as an ESOL home tutor

Complete the Certificate in ESOL Home Tutoring

Learn about working with other cultures and practical teaching techniques. Then teach English to a migrant or refugee-background learner.

  • 20 hour training course (minimum)
  • 4 assessment tasks
  • Tutor 1-2 hours per week
  • Follow up session once tutoring starts

After training you will

  • Be matched with a learner
  • Have access to a resource library and online teaching worksheets and resources
  • Receive ongoing training and support

Want to know more? Contact us | More about ESOL Home Tutoring | More about our training course

Apply online

Our training programme 2017

Download course training dates, location and transport information 

Course 1
 
Day 1  Saturday 18 February          9.00am-5.00pm
Day 2  Saturday 25 February          9.00am-5.00pm
Day 3  Saturday 18 March               9.00am-1.00pm 
Day 4  Wednesday 3 May              12.30pm-2.30pm or 5.30pm-7.30pm

Course 2

Day 1  Saturday13 May                  9.00am-5.00pm
Day 2  Saturday 20 May                 9.00am-5.00pm
Day 3  Saturday 10 June                9.00am –1.00pm
Day 4  Wednesday 26 July           12.30pm-2.30pm or 5.30pm-7.30pm     

Course 3

Day 1  Saturday 5 August              9.00am-5.00pm
Day 2  Saturday 12 August            9.00am-5.00pm 
Day 3  Saturday 2 September        9.00am-1.00pm 
Day 4  Wednesday 18 October    12.30pm-2.30pm or 5.30pm-7.30pm  

Course 4

Day 1 Saturday 21 October            9.00am-5.00pm
Day 2 Saturday 28 October            9.00am-5.00pm
Day 3 Saturday 18 November         9.00am-5.00pm
Day 4 Wednesday 24 January       12.30pm-2.30pm or 5.30pm-7.30pm

Like to join our next training course? 

For more information on our next training course please email the office or call us on (09) 827 7882.